[NEW RELEASE] Bop Alloy (Substantial & Marcus D) 'Winter Breaks' (EP)

Bop Alloy Releases Holiday Project - Winter Breaks

Independent Hip Hop duo Bop Alloy will release their first holiday project on December 9, 2014. In February 2014, Bop Alloy was able to fund their 2nd LP, ‘Another Day in the Life of...’ using Kickstarter. The initial goal of the project was $7000. They more than doubled that amount in under one month and issued stretch goals, one of which included a holiday EP which would become ‘Winter Breaks’.

‘Winter Breaks’ compiles 6 sonically vintage Hip Hop tracks. Producer, Marcus D handles the live instrumentation mixes masterfully while infusing jazz, soul and a pinch of Afro beat samples. Lyrically, Substantial touches on the personal, social, and economical effects of the Holiday season, using thoughtful lyricism, wit, and a variety of flows to paint a different portrait of Christmas, Kwanzaa and New Year’s.

“I wanted to do something that wasn’t a traditional Christmas/Holiday album. I celebrate Kwanzaa as well and I set out to make songs that give you a peek into this underexposed, wonderful world”, says Substantial.

“Regardless of how you celebrate, what you celebrate, and/or who you celebrate it with, this is the best time of year, and I think ‘Winter Breaks’ embodies that sentiment without the cliche "holiday raps factor”, says Marcus D. The ‘Winter Breaks’ EP is sure to be the only holiday music you’ll be playing from now through February.

Track Listing*

  1. Let The Flakes Fall Where They May

  2. Hottest Christmas On Record

  3. Resolutions Per Minute

  4. Spent

  5. Longing for Nia

  6. A Celebration

*All songs written, produced by Substantial & Marcus D 

Available at

About Bop Alloy 
Bop Alloy, comprised of Maryland emcee, Substantial and Seattle, WA producer, Marcus D, have become a staple in today’s international Jazz Hop scene. Baritone vocals, fluid flows, and honest lyrics over hypnotic melodies and pounding drums define the Bop Alloy sound. Together and individually, they have collaborated with the likes of Nujabes, Royce Da 5’9”, Kool Herc, Oddisee, Emancipator, CunninLynguists, Shing02, Choklate, and Kenichiro Nishihara. Bop Alloy’s ‘Another day in the life of...’ was released in April 2014 and features GRAMMY nominated Singer/Songwriter, Carolyn Malachi, Cise Star (of CYNE), and Pismo.

Twitter: @BopAlloy